Restless sleep for I hear the church bells five times, then six, then seven; missing the solitary ring at the half hour mark.  Today, I leave Picos de Europa and continue west, destination unknown.  It is chilly outside and I start my fire again.   The house stays comfortable without the heat with it three feet thick rock walls.  The fire is started with a very flammable brush gathered nearby, arguma, in Spanish.  The scientific name is Genista Occidentalis.  Native to northern Spain and France I see it in the woodpile areas of many homes I go by, an excellent fire starter I use every time, one sticker filled branchy limb and it lights up!

I am still not used to the common practice of a small glass wall next to the shower, open the rest of the area.   The Spaniards must have great restraint in showering as I often get water everywhere, perhaps the reason for the large drain often in the middle of the bathroom.

Breakfast is eggs with smoked salmon lox, local mushrooms, red peppers  and local cheese.

Today is drive day, the northern cost of Spain

One thing I did not miss about the US is the way some of our youngsters wear their pants as a fashion statement (?!), half way down their ass or more.   I am reminded of that today, as I see a young father do the same.   At least his underwear was clean…..

I am without internet and have no real plan for the night, so I just drive west.  I try to get internet at Micky D’s and it is once more unreliable, it has it, just doesn’t work for me.  A café con leche later, I call my network; Ivar, my brother and travel agent for a room anywhere.  He has forgotten about me again, which I’m gonna guess is good.  With my café con leche, I receive a coupon for 3 cents off a gallon at Cepsa Fuel stations; I’m in!!  I GPS a Cepsa station and use my coupon for one euro off!  Hey!; I’m gonna use that one euro coupon with pride, I have contributed enough to the economy here, I’ll take my euro thank you very much!   My brother books me in a room in Vigo, Spain just south of here, in the middle of the city because that’s what he does and what most people want.  I just need a room and go for it.  It is a cheap (33 euros) yet nice two star and the GPS finds it a couple of hours later.  It is dark and the city intimidating with its skinny streets and crowds of people in the center where I drive.  The road the hotel is on is also skinny and I follow the local custom and double park with my emergency flashers on.  When in Rome……  After check in I ask where to park and with great challenge we communicate that the street is free till nine the next morning, paid parking is twelve euros.  She tells me that I can park an additional two hours till 11:00 the next day for 1.30€ for the time from nine to eleven.  I want the free (and little bit of pay) parking and remark how hard it is to get it.  The young patient sweet receptionist tells me she will help me as she looks up and down the street for parking.  I look anxious as she explains, just wait; be patient and sure enough within minutes a spot opens up just four spaces behind us.  She indicates to the driver that I will take it as I back down the street gingerly as he waits.  Once I am past the car, he pulls out in a car smaller than mine!  Which means the spot is equally as small and in another world I would pass it up, yet in this world I cannot!!  I am do not parallel park often and now I have the test!  Dang it, as I have to try twice before I settle for bumping the bumper behind me to ‘feel’ the space and get in as good as I want to at least two feet front the curb! I am awful at this there is one foot; I kid you not; ONE foot between both cars!  ONE FOOT of room!  I am stressed, embarrassed (with no one to see or know me) at myself and tired of the city already!!!  I vow to find a small town next!!  I leave the car and figure it will be okay one night!  I walk away as if it doesn’t belong to me.  I must admit though I like the way the cops drive their cars with their blue lights constantly on; then flashing when they are in pursuit or have a call….great warning sign!

Once in my room; (after a trek to the city and window shopping; hey! I gotta take it all in!) I google rural places and email many accommodations.  Sleep finds me in a hard bed with a stiff mattress and blankets piled high as I have no idea how to turn on the heater.