Archive for November 26, 2012


An early morning rise to catch a flight at 6:30 AM.  What are all these people doing up so early at the airport??  The lines are long and its a good thing I listened and got here (well, almost) 2 hours early.  All my repacking to get my luggage weight down (leaving a few things, like wine) are for naught.  My travel scale is off!  I am seriously overweight.    I start taking thing out of my luggage, trying to get the weight down with absolutely no idea what I will do with the stuff!  I crazily put stuff on the counter as I do this.  With no clear idea what I might do with them.  I think to myself, I’ll just throw away some dirty clothes, socks, underwear, older jeans, now piled high on the counter; the fear of losing 50 euros is making me do weird things.  I grab the trekking poles, thinking I’ll act as if I need them!  The agent finally relents and says, it’s okay (now)!   Then she decides to weigh my carry on!  Dang it.  Seriously overweight as well!  She tells me matter of factually that I need to check it and I have to pay 50€!!   Dang it!  I have no choice and a pile of dirty clothes, so I ask if I can take out a tote bag I have packed in my luggage.  It was my carry-on on the trip over.  At least I can keep my clothes!!   She does ignore the few kilos overweight on my computer pack.  I gotta travel lighter and have more restraint!!  I am certain she is glad I am gone as I limp away with nothing hurt but my pride.

Getting on the plane I realize I have chosen the emergency exit isle!  As I seemingly ‘gimp’ on, I get looks from fellow travelers; (I assume) questioning my ability to function in this row, should we need it!  No, no, just overweight luggage, don’t tell the flight attendant!

Coming back to the States, I find myself helping two Spanish-speaking travelers with simple mis-communications…. funny coming from me, who knows so little!!  I certainly feel for their lack of understanding the language.  I am both happy to hear English and not.  ‘Not’; when it’s terrible English, there’s something about ignorance sometimes…..happy because I am home and can once again understand conversation around me…..There is something to say about not understanding language around me I find.  Being overseas during an election?  Good shit.

When I get through customs and the agent stamps my passport saying to me, “Welcome Home”, I am genuinely happy to hear those words, its comforting even.  My country and I love it!  I love to travel but home is home and I am lucky to be born here and proud to be an American.

I have learned and solidified many things this trip, including:

Pack very light going out on a trip.  You only need two pairs of pants, not four!!  Stay away from cotton pants, other fabrics are lighter, dry faster and if caught in a rainstorm on a mountain hike, cotton can kill.   Just for travel & hiking, gawd; I love cotton…..

Carry ‘throw-aways’, socks & underwear that you were going to throw out, bring to toss after one last use to lighten your load as you leave!!  (However best not at the ticket counter)

Learn basic words in the country you are going in.  Especially bathroom and thank you!  (In that order)

A smile means the same thing in every language…..hard to be mean to someone smiling…..

No TV is truly awesome ….. This can be done at home…..

Listen to your inside voice, hone it.

Remember who is most important.   Even if no one knows where you are, you do.

Bring your own maps!

The road less traveled speaks volumes.

No toll roads save money, not time.  You will pay one way or the another.   There’s always a bright side…. For touring this is great, stop and smell the roses.

Don’t be attached to the outcome.

Don’t judge…..anyone…..(you included)

To hear English, turn on the radio, American music is very prevalent in Spain, France and Portugal.

Don’t take anything personally; it’s not about you……

A GPS is awesome, a life saver for me, but still think for you!!

Don’t assume anything, ask and speak your piece/peace……

Every country has great people; don’t let the few sourpusses sour the trip.

Try everything once.  Well, almost everything.  (blood sausage?- not necessary)

If you take off your shoes to get comfortable on the plane, put them on to go to the bathroom, people miss….

There is always room for personal growth, for everyone…..don’t talk negative about something you know nothing about…..

America is an awesome country, challenges yes, yet look what we did in 200 years, be proud if you are an American.  Or wherever your birth nation is!!

I love my country.

Don’t be afraid of the lack of railings when you know you can, we are often coddled in the states and not use to letting ourselves run free, but don’t run!

Sing with abandon, it’s freeing….(don’t judge me-remember?)

The door you fear to open the most?  Open it!  How else will you know?

Alone is not lonely unless you choose it to be.

You really can do anything you put your mind to.

Life is short, live every moment, like there’s no tomorrow.

You have more strength than even you believe.

Love yourself most.

Everything I write could be wrong.  (courtesy of Richard Bach)

…….it’s all a choice.

It’s a sunny day as I wake up in my brothers fourth story flat overlooking apartments and buildings in the city.  Ivar and Bridgette have an outside terrace that wraps around three sides of their apartment, very nice.  I had called Peter, our ‘Bulgarian, Swedish, living in Spain‘, friend yesterday to meet and we have a great lunch of paella and beer in the warm Mediterranean sun.  It is super nice out.  Peter knows the owners and they treat us to an anchovy dish with olive oil.  The paella is great here; Restaurante Marisqueria La Carihuela Chica, across the street from the beach, it is sunny today and we sit on the sidewalk tables to bask in it all.  After the meal a local shot of ‘fortified’ wine!  We have a nice visit as we talk about out next adventure.  We all want to go to Egypt!

After I get back, I go out to a local park with Ivar and his three and a half year old son, Liam.  We catch up on news of friends and family.  I see a part of Fuengirola, that’s very nice along the river and Mediterranean Sea fronts and even has a prerequisite castle; fortified area on a hill, I didn’t know was there!  Next time!!!

Dinner is salmon and chips and wine I cannot fit in my luggage because of the weight.

Last night in Spain……life on the other side of the Atlantic, oh so close…..