This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

I woke up blissfully with my memory foam pillow.  I’m a little too warm.  Opening a window and letting the cold in, I realize we have a new or old president today and there is a life over the ocean I still had.   Far removed from political rhetoric, I decide I must know and google it…..yes!  I also realize outside the window is a good place to put my beer, it is chilly!  I’m not very politically involved but feel the outcome while far (far) from perfect is the best.  Okay, done with that!!  This place offers a free breakfast and that’s my next move!

I want to visit the Nature Reserve next to this town and San Juan de Gaztelugatxe…..a peninsula overlooking the Atlantic; it wins out.  While it rained over night, the day clears nicely.  I drive through small towns and forests and feel great, something about the forest and great outdoors gives me solace.  I make it to the peninsula that has lots of eucalyptus on the hillsides, along with pines and ferns.   I get some sun for my steep hike down the hill and then up the almost 300 stairs to the chapel overlooking the ocean, the views are spectacular and I bask in the sun until it starts to get chilly.  There is a bell to ring once at the chapel honoring John the Baptist.  I ring six times for the special people in my life…..I have to cut it off or I’d be ringing a lot!  There is a sign “WC” for water closet and it is a simple hole with the drainage going straight into the ocean below!!  There is also a nice rock enclosed space to have a picnic and fire out of the wind and rain.  The hike is surprisingly not difficult, I am pleased with myself for making it easily without burning legs, my biking has paid off!   A Spanish couple stop me in the parking lot to inquire about the hike; I am getting use to talking to people although I know there will be some gaps!  This time the guy turns to his lady and she understands and speaks a bit of English!  It’s just a crap shoot when I’ll be able to understand or be understood!

I want to avoid the tolls roads that I seem to get on to a lot, one costing me 11.25 euros!  So I chose another country route home and am pleased to go thru another limestone, granite mountains range in Urriolalo Natural Park.  Again, a mountain outside of the town has a terraced and harvested quarry for Spain’s road and buildings.   My attempt at avoiding toll roads is for naught, I hit one anyway but am pleased with only a .93 cent tariff.

A mellow peaceful beautiful day hiking and enjoying the views….

I hear France calling……